Number 7 … with a Bullet!

When I was a kid, I used to love following the Billboard charts, and I always wondered why people said songs were “Number One with a Bullet.”

Well, now I get it. My little mystery, “Heavy Mental,” which has a bullet or two, is rising up the Amazon charts.

After receiving good reviews and shout-outs, I decided to go into KDP Select and offer “Heavy Mental” for free. I wasn’t sure what to expect. I thought that maybe a few people would take note that a four-star book was free and download it.

Little did I know that so many people would download the book. I’ve gone up in the rankings for free mysteries about women sleuths, to the point where I am parallel to the self-publishing guru himself, J.A. Konrath. His is paid, mine is free, and we are the same rank. Of course, I don’t expect that to last forever, so I captured the moment for posterity:

parallel with Konrath

Heck, if I dropped down the charts starting now, that’s not so bad. It feels good to know that my little book has been downloaded to Kindles everywhere.

2 thoughts on “Number 7 … with a Bullet!

Leave a Reply

